The latest ePrivacy Regulation draft rejected

28 Nov 2019

On Friday, November 22, 2019, the Permanent Representatives Committee of the Council of the European Union has rejected the latest draft ePrivacy Regulation brought forth by the Finnish Presidency of the Council of the EU.

“The ePrivacy Regulation aims to strengthen users’ right to privacy and create protective measures against online tracking. Instead, EU states turned it into a surveillance toolkit,” said Estelle Massé, Senior Policy Analyst at EDRi member’s Access Now. “Today’s rejection should not be a signal that the reform cannot happen. Instead, it should be a signal that states must go back to the negotiating table and deliver what was promised to EU citizens: stronger privacy protections.”

Member States’ approach

Member States were rather adamant against the latest text on ePrivacy with the following situation:

  • Netherlands, Denmark, Bulgaria, Ireland, Greece, Spain, Cyprus voting – FOR;

  • Lithuania, Croatia, Latvia – said nothing which almost counts as a vote FOR;

  • Austria, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, France; Germany; Hungary; Italy; Malta; Poland; Portugal; Romania; Slovakia; Sweden and the UK – AGAINST

  • Belgium – Abstention (counts as a vote against);

Next steps

The Finnish Presidency is not planning any other WP on the matter during their mandate, which means that (if) we will see ePrivacy again in January the earliest during the Croatian Presidency.

More details at